The emotion-focused Therapy Network

The Annandale Institute is involved with providing specialised mentoring, supervision and  training for counsellors and therapists in individual and couple work using an Emotion-Focused approach. Until August 2018, the Annandale Institute had been extensively involved in the training programs as the Institute for Emotionally Focused Therapy. The training in Emotion-Focused Work first began in 1987 under the auspices of the Counselling Training Centre (NSW), prior to the programs being accredited with the Higher Education Board (NSW) and then Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA). There have been many practitioners in the counselling and therapy field who have been trained in this approach. Since the accreditation of the courses, counsellors and therapists are now able to complete a Post Graduate Diploma or Certificate in Emotion-Focused Work. As it is a recognised modality, there is now a network of counsellors and therapists in Sydney and beyond who, in addition to their other specialised training, have integrated Emotion-Focused Work in their practice. Please feel free to contact these practitioners for any further information.

Below is a list of counsellors and/or therapists who work using an Emotion-Focused approach. They are recommended by the Annandale Institute and meet the requirements for continuing professional development in Emotion-Focused work. This is not an exhaustive list – they are current or past training staff, practitioners who hold a Post Graduate Certificate or Diploma in Emotion-Focused Work or have completed many of the workshops with the institute. Each person on the list may not be available on contact to provide Emotion-Focused services. For a brief biography, you may click on any of the names that are underlined or contact them directly via the relevant contact details.

Locality Name Suburb Contact
NS Kerrie Bannister DeeWhy/North Curl Curl
CBD Jeremy Barbouttis Sydney CBD
WS David Bridges North Parramatta
VIC Diane Bulman South Melton (03) 9746 8088
IW Joy Cassidy Glebe
IW Lisa Champion Pyrmont
WS Lidia Chehade Cranebrook 0422 958 576
IW Kathleen Conquest Hurlstone Park
WS Rochelle Dawson Regents Park/Oatlands
SS Connie Easterbrook Sutherland Shire
NS/WS Juliette Ferrier Marrickville 0414 277 105
NS/WS Jenny FitzGerald Oatlands
BM Jill Gannon Springwood (02) 4751 4154
ES Helen Golding Randwick 0412 774 170
NS Jo Gore Ultimo / Manly 0412 004 764
IW Maria Gray Annandale
WS Anya Haldey Blaxland
NS/WS Jessica Joseph Oatlands/Mortdale
IW Sarah Joy Glebe
ACT Anna Kamarul Deakin (02) 6122 7100
NS/WS Jacqueline de Keizer Richmond/Windsor
NS Jennie Lakos Narrabeen
NS Virginia Lindsay Crows Nest
NS Joanne Martens Belrose/Lindfield/Wahroonga 0488 458 669
SA Samantha Mathews Adelaide
QLD Ann Moylan Brisbane
SS Sue Olds Nowra 0416 296 985
WS Deborah Sanasi Bella Vista
SS Dawn Smith Enfield 0418 954 804
IW Dr. Clare Stapleton Annandale / Glebe
IW Agnes Starnawski Turramurra
SS Kim Taylor Berry
QLD Dr. Toni Tidswell Tweed Heads 0467 557 418
IW Yasmine Wahab Glebe
IW Dr. Michelle Webster Annandale
NS Iris Yip Macquarie Park/Oatley

Locality Key:

ACT - Australian Capital Territory
BM - Blue Mountains NSW
CBD - Central Sydney Business District
CC - Central NSW Coast
ES - Eastern Sydney Suburbs
IW - Inner Western Sydney
NS - Northern Sydney Suburbs
QLD - Queensland
SA - South Australia
SS - Southern Sydney Suburbs & Southern Highlands
VIC - Victoria
WS - Western Sydney Suburbs